Network Time Protocol (NTP)

The Network Time Protocol (NTP) is a standard way for machines to provide and obtain correct time information on the Internet. A machine may get accurate time information from public NTP services on the Internet such as the NTP Pool Project. A high-quality hardware clock to serve accurate time to local clients is another option.

The timedatectl command shows an overview of the current time-related system settings, including current time, time zone, and NTP synchronization settings of the system.

timedatectl
# timedatectl
      Local time: Tue 2017-06-13 05:17:20 EDT
  Universal time: Tue 2017-06-13 09:17:20 UTC
        RTC time: Tue 2017-06-13 09:17:20
       Time zone: America/New_York (EDT, -0400)
     NTP enabled: yes
NTP synchronized: yes
 RTC in local TZ: no
      DST active: yes
 Last DST change: DST began at
                  Sun 2017-03-12 01:59:59 EST
                  Sun 2017-03-12 03:00:00 EDT
 Next DST change: DST ends (the clock jumps one hour backwards) at
                  Sun 2017-11-05 01:59:59 EDT
                  Sun 2017-11-05 01:00:00 EST
timedatectl timezone
# timedatectl list-timezones
# timedatectl set-timezone Asia/Shanghai
# timedatectl
      Local time: Tue 2017-06-13 17:23:41 CST
  Universal time: Tue 2017-06-13 09:23:41 UTC
        RTC time: Tue 2017-06-13 09:23:41
       Time zone: Asia/Shanghai (CST, +0800)
     NTP enabled: yes
NTP synchronized: yes
 RTC in local TZ: no
      DST active: n/a
enable/disable NTP
# timedatectl set-ntp false
# timedatectl set-ntp true

results matching ""

    No results matching ""